Skip to content

Source-backed platform rule

GitHub repository push size limit

See the direct answer, scope, qualifiers, and current official evidence for GitHub repository push size limit.

RuleRoster is independent and is not affiliated with or endorsed by GitHub.

Direct answer

What is the rule?

GitHub enforces a maximum push size of 2 GB per push.

Scope
GitHub.com repository activity
Rule verified
September 23, 2026

Published evidence

Rule details

Enforced limit

Enforced maximum: 2 GB per push. GitHub states that this ceiling is enforced. Specific enforcement action: not stated.

Applicability

Service: GitHub.com. Plans: Enterprise Cloud, Free, Pro, Team. Country: not stated. Device: not stated. Account class: not stated. Policy version: not stated.

Evidence trail

Official sources

Attribution and license

Source content: GitHub Docs by GitHub, licensed under CC BY 4.0: https://github.com/github/docs/blob/0a4d351cc1ff7134764f874808fb6829afbb73dd/LICENSE. Summarized and adapted by RuleRoster; verified 2026-09-23. No endorsement by GitHub is implied.

Interpretation and accountability

Before you act

  1. Confirm that the scope matches your case.
  2. Keep recommendations, enforced limits, exceptions, and unstated details distinct.
  3. Open the official source before relying on the rule for a consequential decision.

Record dates

Published
September 23, 2026
Rule verified
September 23, 2026
Review due
September 30, 2026

Challenge this record

If the source or summary appears wrong, submit precise evidence for human review.

Submit a correction